And the baking begins! I have had a box of peaches sitting on my table for a few days and they are ripe enough to start using in delectable treats. My first peachy project was muffins.  I found the recipe on Allrecipes.com and altered it a bit. The * symbol in the ingredients shows where I changed it.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • *1 tablespoon ground cinnamon ( I added a little more)
  • *I added about 1/4-1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • *1 1/4 cups vegetable oil (Instead I used 1 cup applesauce and only 1/4 cup oil)
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • *2 cups white sugar (Instead I used only 1 cup brown sugar)
  • *2 cups peeled, pitted, and chopped peaches (I used a little closer to 3 cups)
  • * I added 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly grease 16 muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix the oil, eggs, and sugar. Stir the oil mixture into the flour mixture just until moist. Fold in the peaches. Spoon into the prepared muffin cups.
  3. Bake 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes before turning out onto wire racks to cool completely.
I had also read somewhere a way to skin the peaches easily. It worked like a charm. I boiled a pot of water and dropped the peaches in for 20-30 seconds. I then removed them with a slotted spoon, let them cool a minute, and the skins peeled right off in large pieces. I didn’t even need a peeler, just my hands. These muffins are delicious!  If you have peaches you should make these muffins!
The next night I made Peach Cobbler. One of our first few nights in Austin we went to dinner at The Saltlick outside of Austin for some real Texas barbecue. I had never had cobbler in my life and was told by our Texan friends that The Saltlick has the best cobbler. They weren’t kidding. After peach picking I knew that I needed to try to recreate that ooey gooey goodness. I found the recipe online, changed it a wee bit, and used fresh peaches instead of canned.
Batter
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup room temperature milk
  • 1 room temperature egg
Filling
  • *1(28 oz) can sliced peaches drained (I used 10 peaches, approximately 4 cups of sliced fresh peaches)
  • *I added 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • *1 cup sugar (I used a little over 1/2 cup sugar after reading other recipes complaining that 1 cup was too sweet)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Melt butter in 9X13in pan. Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir in milk and egg. Pour evenly over melted butter in the pan. Combine peaches,sugar, vanilla, and spices and spread over batter. DO NOT STIR. Bake for 35-45 min until batter comes up to the top and is golden brown. Serve warm with ice cream. I might try to sprinkle some brown sugar over top before baking next time. 🙂
If you are reading this and drooling, good! You should be! Now go out get yourself some peaches and start baking! You won’t be sorry! I am going to buy a disposable pan today, assemble all the ingredients for the cobbler again and freeze it. Then in a few months (or weeks, hehe) I’ll take it out of the freezer and bake it.
While working with these peaches I was just marveling at their feel, color, smell and taste. I don’t know if I’ve ever had peaches as divine as these. These are how God intended peaches to be: in season, local, fresh, non infused with chemicals. These peaches make me think of that scene from James in the Giant Peach where they discover they can eat the peach. They start grabbing fistfuls of juicy peach and devouring it. That is what these peaches are like (except they aren’t ginormous and I don’t live inside of them flying across the country…if only…)
Bon Appétit!
