Tags

, , , ,

This Saturday I was more productive than I’ve been recently. I have been so drained of energy lately. Saturdays I wake up with plans of exploration and organization, but then succumb to the calls of the couch, cuddly kittens, and Netflix. It sucks me in. Well yesterday I started the day with blog reading, and a phone date with a dear friend from college. After that, the hubby and I ventured out to the Sunset Valley Farmer’s Market in Austin,TX. I have been lazy lately in my efforts to eat locally and organically. Our weekly grocery spending had been very discouraging. Also, the farmer’s market that is much closer to us is now very difficult to get to in rush hour traffic after work. But those are lame excuses. Let’s be honest. I read an article about this woman and her courageous decision to swear off grocery stores for a year. And guess what? She’s from Austin, TX! Love this town. She motivated me to get back on track, no matter what the cost. Saturday was a beautiful, sunny, 60 degree day. It was wonderful to stroll around the farmer’s market, and talk with the farmers about their crops again. We left with some tasty local goodies.

After lunch we went thrift store shopping! I am going to have to go again because the hubby was ready to call a quits just when I was getting started. 🙂 We got a few things we had been in need of: belts, ironing board, shiny red heels… OK maybe I didn’t need the heels. 😉

We came home and had a lazy late afternoon of Man vs. Wild and naps. And then I cooked dinner inspired by a purchase at the farmers market. Beer batter coconut fried chicken and shrimp. Mmmmm Poco’s eat your heart out. We finished the evening with The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe and the words of Roald Dahl lulled me to sleep. It. was. glorious.

