Tags

, , ,

Reason #324 why I love Austin, TX.

When I go to the grocery store, I make new friends. People acknowledge I exist, make eye contact *gasp*, and exchange friendly words. I discovered the other day that a lovely lady of 78 shared my birthday. She pointed out that the year was not the same though… I was buying my Superbowl beverages, and when they entered my info, she took notice and mentioned it. She then began to bestow nuggets of wisdom about age and youth to me. She told me that it doesn’t matter how old your body feels or looks, but what age you tell yourself you are at heart. Then she wished me a 4 month early birthday. Thank you checkout grandma.  I walked out into the sun, groceries in hand, with both my heart and face warmed.

Photo courtesy of Emily from her trip to Austin.

